Interior Design Review: Armstrong

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 9.00.27 PM.png

For this review, I visited Armstrong.com and checked out their design tool. Armstrong sells flooring (hardwood, vinyl, laminate and linoleum), so their design software was based more on showcasing their flooring selections, but it also allowed you visualize a room with basically any paint color.

There are two ways that you can use their design tool. The first is to use a pre-selected room. First you choose the room type: bathroom, bedroom, dining room, kitchen and living room. Then, you choose the room style: casual, contemporary, country, eclectic and traditional. Pictured above is the traditional living room selection. When you choose your room, you can view different Armstrong floor types in that room, change the wall colors with a huge selection of color, and change the cabinetry (stain) in kitchens and bathrooms. That is basically what their design tool does. You cannot move or change the furniture, since it just lets you manipulate the walls and floors.

The other way that you can use the design tool is to upload a picture of an uncluttered room. For instance, if I want to remodel my living room and would like to be able to visualize how any Armstrong flooring would look in my existing room, along with a variety of different wall colors, I could do so. For this, I uploaded a picture of the bathroom for an apartment that I used to live in. They want the picture to be 600 x 600 and mine was too large, so I adjusted it. I then used their tool to trace out my floor and walls and try different colors. That tool was a little bit unwieldy, but if you’re careful and your picture is of good quality, you can get a really great visual for how different floors and walls would look in any given room.

I don’t see a whole lot of use for choosing one of their rooms and changing the walls and floors around, but the upload-a-picture feature is useful for anyone looking to remodel a room, especially to pick out what color to paint a wall, or choose among Armstrong flooring. I can definitely see myself using it again for those specific scenarios. However, it will not help you to choose or place furniture or decor in a room, so I’m still on the lookout for something that lets you create the full room!

 

Leave a Reply

