Interior Design Review- RoomSketcher

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 6.22.00 PM.png

Today I visited roomsketcher.com to check out their free design tool. I was excited since it seemed like a comprehensive program that I could really do a lot with, and it definitely is. As you can see from the first floor of an apartment I designed above, it is tons of fun!

This program had a great selection of just about any type of furniture, wall colors, floor types, closets, etc… Pretty much everything you need is here and the variety is great! Let me repeat: SO MUCH VARIETY! I love it! You can resize and rotate the objects, as well, which is awesome! You can also change the color and pattern of all of the objects if you upgrade.

When it came to adding windows and doors, there is a neat measuring feature which shows you how far away it all is from other objects, making symmetry happen more easily! The only problem I can think of was that I couldn’t see where to lay one floor on top of the other if I wanted to design a second floor that is a different shape than the first, but that really isn’t that big of a deal, since you could figure it out anyway if you had to.

In this software, you have to upgrade to get a 3D view, but once you do, you can view your project from airplane view, you can view it as though you are walking through it, or you can direct a character (either male or female) to walk through the space. So, there are lots of options for seeing the project from different angles, and even seeing how people are supposed to move throughout the space.

I am definitely considering buying the upgraded version of this software because it’s amazing. It seems to be everything I was looking for and more! I do plan on doing a few more reviews of free design software on the web just to get a feel for what else is out there though. I’d like to invite any readers, especially anyone in design, to leave suggestions for software that they use and how they use it. Please leave me a comment, because I’d love to know: what works for you?

 

2 thoughts on “Interior Design Review- RoomSketcher

Leave a Reply

